SAA Award Winners 2015

2015 Awards Judges
– Lee Allan Peterson, Vice-Chair of the Board – Roger Tory Peterson Institute, Gastronomic Botanist, Jeweler, Author, and Lecturer
– Elizabeth Small, Curator and a Board Trustee, The Bennington Center for the Arts
– William Thompson, III, Board Member – Roger Tory Peterson Institute, Editor/Co-Publisher of Bird Watcher’s Digest, Author of numerous books on birds

Award of Excellence Winners

The Marilyn Newmark Memorial Award for Realistic 3D
Pati Stajcar– Octavia*
The Marilyn Newmark Memorial Award for Realistic 2D
Mark Susinno– Sparkling Waters*
The Patricia Allen Bott Award for Creative Excellence (Painting or Sculpture)
Julie Askew– Lifeline 1*
The Evelyn and Peter Haller Memorial Award For Sculpture
Sandy Graves– Thrill of the Chase*
The President’s Award 2D
Guy Cohleach– Vic Falls African Fish Eagle*
The President’s Award 3D
Paul Rhymer– Rant and Skeptic*
The Hiram Blauvelt Art Museum Purchase Award(s)
John Perry Baumlin– Out On A Limb*
The Newcomer Award for a First Time Participant in the SAA’s Annual Exhibition
David Kiehm– Snowy Owl II*
Fine Art Connoisseur Editor’s Choice Award
Kelly Singleton– Wet n’ Wild*
Western Art Collector’s Magazine Editor’s Choice Award
Cindy House– Evening Light*
The Driftless Glen Distillery Purchase Award
Darin Miller– Shallow Excavation*
The Artists’ Choice Award [Chosen by attending SAA Artists]
Calvin Nichols– Wilson’s Bird of Paradise*
Merit Awards (2) 2D
Ann Geise– Cool Down*
Sadao Naito– Five Squirrels and Corn*
Merit Awards (2) 3D
Chris Maynard– Loon Star*
Geoffrey Smith– The Modern Pelican*
Marilyn Newmark Educational Grants
[The SAA awarded two (2) educational grants valued at $2,500.00 each in 2015 to associate members. These grants are to be used to help advance one’s artistic skills, and MUST be used in such a manner that one can grow as an artist and, hopefully, be promoted to Signature status as a result. The age of the applicant, or place of residence, shall have no bearing on the selection of the recipients. Applicants are selected by the SAA Special Awards Committee]
Sharon Bamber
Karie O’Donnell